profile photoBrandon's Portfolio
profile photoBrandon's Portfolio
Brandon Pyle

Welcome to My Blog!

Brandon Pyle

Posted by Brandon Pyle on December 17, 2023

Categories:

React

Next.JS

Sanity

TailwindCSS

Blog

Update

Yesterday I finished the first version of my new blog, which you are reading at this very moment. First off, I would like to say thank you for reading this! This will be my first post of (hopefully) many on this website.

I created my first blog about a year and a half ago, and I was really happy with it for a while. You can still find it at brandonpyle.netlify.app. The main issue with it was that I couldn't figure out how to host it because the Sanity back-end wasn't directly connected to the front end of the website. That is to say, they were basically two separate websites. This led me to just host it on netlify and allow sanity to host the back-end. Although this solution worked, I wasn't satisfied with it. I wanted an all-in-one solution that made it easy to build the back-end and access it directly from the main website.

That's when I saw a video on Sanity v3 two days ago. Sanity v3 is the same great Sanity experience with a ton of amazing new features. Sanity v3 can be embedded into your front-end, which allows you to directly access it from your website by adding the '/studio' route to the url. There are a bunch of other new features, but I won't go over those right now. What you need to know is that Sanity v3 was exactly what I was looking for.

So, after seeing that video, I followed the tutorial to build my new website with Next.JS, Sanity, and Tailwind. Now that i've made the first version of the website, I want to talk about what's next:

1. What's Next for the Website?

In the next few days and weeks I will be rolling out a bunch of front-end updates to the website that will make it my own. One thing I like to do when I follow programming tutorials is modify them to make them original instead of a cookie-cutter project that anyone could replicate.

The main things I want to add in no particular order are the following:

If I can complete all these items, this website will look a lot better and more polished than it does now.

2. What's Next for the Content?

Over the next few days I will also be posting about a bunch of my completed projects just so I have them here for people to see. I will also be posting about some on-going projects I'm working on as well (including updates on my blog). In addition to this, I also want to start actually making blog posts. There won't be a set schedule, but I will definitely do my best to start blogging about some different things, whether it's personal or tech-related. This won't be a blog just for tech stuff. I will likely be posting about a wide range of things that are interesting to me.

Those are my thoughts about my website and the vision I have for its future. Be on the lookout for new posts soon!


Comments

Name:

Comment:

Brandon

This is my first comment!